Book Reviews

Reviews of Beneath the Surface:

SUP the Mag Review

Distressed Mullet Review

By Franco R on March 12, 2018

I have finished reading your book in three days and I wanted to
congratulate you for what you have done. I think the book would be really students to read it and discuss it at
school because you have touched many topics, such as commitment, interest and care for the environment, mindfulness, care for traditions just to mention a few. Then, your kind of life and way of living. I don't know you, but I saw you " in action" on the 14th of October 2012, just
for few minutes. [See image sent by Franco on left] While reading your book I said " Oh, he is exactly what I saw in those few minutes." Go on this way, you are a genuine person and you are doing a great job.

By Shelley on February 20, 2018

I live on Maui and happen to know this young man. But not well. I did not realize that this sweet guy is an "old soul" and I feel that, through his inspirational book, I've gotten to know him a lot better. And would love to know him better still.

By Lurta N on December 15, 2017

From the first moment that i meet Zane Schweitzer I feel the clear energy as clean powerful water that he has the energy that he spread doing everything, his knowledge as a pure waterman is only up to a few people in the world , always ready for the action and with an incredible sensibility to teach and share his knowledge and the aloha spirit.
you cannot waste time with him because he take away all the redundant or superfluous things and go straight to the important things , this book is a good time to invest learning from Zane in how to improve like sport people and to live better as humans. 

By Dennis F on January 21, 2018

Zane Kekoa Schweitzer is such an inspiring person with an absolutely positive vibe. Every line in his book speaks aloha and everyone who has had the chance to meet him in person can confirm that he lives the spirit. He has not just written this book to make the world a better place - he lives every word on a daily basis and teaches the reader to do the same. He wanted to write this book for his family and children in the first place. With publishing the book, we all get a glimpse of Zane’s thoughts, life and beliefs.
The book is about his path of becoming the ultimate waterman and the philosophical and spiritual aspects and lessons he learns along the way. It teaches you how to reflect on a daily basis and to be open-minded when it comes to new things that appear along the journey. You can learn to fulfill your dreams step by step. Every occasion has a certain meaning to your life and this book teaches you methods to reveal these meanings. It can bring you closer to yourself and gives you ways to listen to your inner thoughts and wishes.
“Beneath the surface” is a must read to everyone who is searching for advices and methods. I can recommend this book to everyone else too. It contains well written stories about the life of a Hawaiian waterman and comes with very fascinating stories which makes this book fun to read.
I learned a lot about myself reading this book e.g. I started a 5-Minute-Journal and I feel that it helps me to be more positive, grateful and open-minded. Without Zane’s book I wouldn’t have started journaling. Since I was on Hawaii for the first time, I was fascinated by their culture and the Hawaiian way of life. I was trying to find the true meaning of Aloha since then. This book taught me so many new things that gave me a better understanding of Aloha and myself.
Mahalo Zane for sharing this book with us.

From ES 

I have followed Zane Schweitzer's career as a Waterman for many years. I had in my mind what an athlete and inspiring person he was - giving always to peers, kids and his community. It was an honor and life-changing experience to work with him on his first book, BENEATH THE SURFACE. Not only is he a master at story-telling, he has a lifetime of journals that have helped him to "Believe and Create" a life on inspiration and innovation. Zane generously shares a peek inside some of his actual journals - you will feel like he is right there with you as you read. If you are looking for a practice that will support your quest to be your best and manifest your future - THIS is a book to make your own.

By Madeline L on January 21, 2018

I have read many books, but never have I read any other book that is more inspiring than this one! Beneath the Surface is filled with lots of steps on how we can live up to our full potential in life and motivates us to be our best selves. Beneath the Surface inspires me to chase after my dreams in life and to not be afraid while doing so. Zane tells his stories with so much passion and description, that it feels like you are there alongside him in places like Hawaii, Fiji, New Zealand and more! A definite read if you're looking to be humbled, while motivated at the same time. I love this book so much, I'm currently reading it for a second time! Thanks Zane for challenging us to innovate and inspire the world!!

By Kelly H on December 6, 2017

Awesome book. It really makes you think about what differences you can make in someone else’s life, how to handle failure, and how to be humble by taking one step and realizing how everyone that you meet in life has a purpose on your path. I have loved it and will be having my 16 year old, 13 year old twins, and 10 year old read it. All four being paddlers and surfers. Completely inspiring.

Thank you for sharing such an inspirational and beautiful journey with us. This book put me in tears, on the edge of my seat and dead in laughter. It's truly an inspiring book and I'm glad I was able to read it!

By Ali S on December 1, 2017

A great read based on the power of journaling to keep grounded, grateful and grow performance. Illustrated by great stories of resilience, humbleness, thoughtfulness and taking action to take care of people, communities and our oceans. Zane is a deep thinker so this book challenges you, the reader in many ways.

By L. Davenport on February 15, 2018

The word awesome is so misused and overused these days, but I would definitely use it for Zane Kekoa Schweitzer. I am truly amazed at Zane's skill, his focus, and his practice of kuleana for the ocean and for the land. "Beneath the Surface" has depth and meaning for all of us - land lovers or water women